Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation's history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are, these days, a number of old buildings related to a nation’s history. Some people insist that they should reconstruct to new ones. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and present my opinion, representing the view of progress.

On the one hand, I personally believe that the old constructs should be protected because of respect to the nation’s history. People could imagine the past lifestyle and culture when they look old buildings, such as Hanok village, and it leads to benefits from tourist industry. For instance, tourist who has interesting in the history could visit to Korea for experice of Korean’s past culture in old buildings.

On the other hand, the others believe that the old building disturb progress. Nowadays, the number of people has steadIly increase, and the government should build a new building, for example, companies and convenient facilities. However, the old buildings are holding it, which is affect on the nation’s progress. Therefore, the government should adjust to both sides, and make some solutions that both could accept.

In conclusion, not only protect to old buildings to remember the past culture and tourism industry, but also the way of progress is important. So, people should adjust both sides opinions.