Many parents today employ private tutors to teach their children after school hours. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Some people feel that parents should seek guidance from a tutor to teach their children after school hours. Others argue that employing a tutor is not necessary as self-study is the best method for the children’s study. Despite parents employing a tutor may eliminate children’s curiosity and self-study, I would argue that using a tutor is more advantageous as it reduces children’s stress and increases their confidence.

Those who argue against having a tutor often point to the benefits of self-study. Self-study increases children’s curiosity and raises their studying motivation. As a result, it helps children to find their own passion and gain a good school performance. The more self-study, the better academic results.

In contrast, there are some advantages of hiring a tutor for children. Firstly, a tutor helps to reduce stress for children. Nowadays, children tend to have more homeworks and a wide range of subjects. Consequently, a tutor plays an important role as a children’s partner to solve these tasks together. For example, a tutor can help children to deeply understand lessons that were taught in the school and make study plans such as which subjects should be completed prior. Therefore, employing a tutor could decrease children’s stress. Secondly, a tutor may increase children’s confidence as children can catch up with their classmates. For example, children who don’t understand lessons will be more confident if they receive private tutoring. In contrast, children who don’t understand lessons may feel desperate if they don’t receive any outside support.

In conclusion, it is true that employing a tutor can eliminate the children’s self-study skill. However, on the whole, I would argue that hiring a tutor is beneficial because it not only helps to reduce children’s stress, but also to increase children’s confidence.