Many parents today organise extra classes for their children after school and at the weekends. Do you feel that this is a worthwhile thing to do or do you feel children have enough education at school?

Some believe that pupils should not be obliged to attend extra lessons set up by their parents outside of school hours. I feel that kids shouldn’t require extra scheduled courses on the weekends since it can prevent them from going beyond the textbook.

Children who anticipate taking more lessons over the weekend may not pay full attention in class, hoping to make up for it in the weekend classes. As a result, time spent in school classes will be mostly squandered as students grow less focused, which will eventually lead to a dependency on private tuition. Well, putting in a few additional hours on the weekends could result in the kids getting a better score, but there are some drawbacks. Class time, study hours, teaching-learning strategies, and the study load are all placed on the pupils according to their proven academic ability. School activities are planned based on academic studies and scientific research. Adding extra lessons on the weekends might put a tremendous amount of strain on developing brains and cause long-term, irreversible harm.

In addition, devoting too much time to after-school sessions may be detrimental to students’ mental health since it prevents them from engaging in sports or other extracurricular activities. For instance, some students enthusiastically join dynamic organizations like sports clubs, art schools, cultural groups, and volunteer groups. In fact, if students focus their whole attention during class, they will not need to attend any additional sessions on the weekends. Furthermore, taking additional classes may make students bored, drain their mental resources, and negatively impact their overall academic performance, which in turn lowers their self-esteem. As a result, going to classes again on the weekends feels almost like waste of time because it involves practicing the same things all over again, which prevents them from developing their talent and interests.

In conclusion, children’s study time, learning style, and class load are all best suited for their age; adding more study pressure might have a long-term negative impact on their physical and mental stability. Additionally, keeping children occupied with academic material on the weekends may prevent them from advancing their diverse skill sets.