Schools are no longer necessary, because children can get so much information available through Internet, and they can study just as well at home. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that the importance of schools has diminished over the past years due to the rise of digital environment for learning. I firmly agree with this stance as the merits of online education far outweigh those of the traditional one.

Virtual learning offers advantages that schools cannot. Online platforms and websites help students study more efficiently and flexibly. The prime example of this is Khan Academy, where students can decide themselves when and how to prepare for their subjects. This convenience makes online learning attractive not only to the youth, but also to the mentors, as they now have more control over their lesson schedules. And even if such flexible timing is unsuitable, people can still watch the recorded videos on platforms like Youtube or coursera. Finally, students that are struggling with complex topics may convert to the assistance of AI tools. In some cases, these chat bots offer much more elaborative and constructed explanations than human teachers give.

One still might argue that traditional schooling system is more effective. They propose the idea that students learn better in-person rather than through screens of their laptops because they will have better focus on their teachers and the materials being presented. However, these same settings can be replicated with modern apps, such as Google Classroom, where mentors and students learn face-to-face in real time. As has been seen during pandemic period, these online classrooms provide equal, and in some instances even better, learning experience to students, who seldom might be shy to ask questions in-person, but feel less pressure behind the camera. So, it is safe to say that online education is by no means inferior to its traditional counterparts, especially considering new advanced virtual systems.

In conclusion, traditional learning institutions are getting obsolete with the advent of new technologies that brought convenience and novelty to the educational process. I am in favor of this view as I have experienced first-hand the superiority of the new study medium.