Many people are working longer hours. What are the reasons and effects.

Nowadays, many people are working longer hours due to economic and workplace demand. This essay will disscus the main reason for this trend and the problem it might be cause for individuals.

One of the main reasons why people works longer hours is that economic pressures. Many people needs to earn enough money to cover their living expenses such as rent, food and education. For example, in New York it is common for people to do overtime or take additional part time jobs to afford their needs. Another major reason is competition in job market. In many industries, individuals must prove their dedication and productivity to keep their job and get promotions. Employees think that the more a person works long hours, the more likely they are to get promotions. For example, in the IT industry, it is common for analysts to stay office late or work late or during weekends.

However, working longer hours can cause serious preoblem. Firstly, it often leads to stress and mental health issues. Working extended hours as people do not have enough time to rest. For example, sitting for long hours while working on a computer can contribute to eye disorders and back issues. Secondly, spending much time at works reduces work- life balance. Not only does this consume a significant amount of their time, but it also drains their energy. For example, junior doctors in many hosbitals often works 12 to 16 hours shrifts with few breaks.

In conclusion, although financial pressures and job market competition demands working long hours, this trend can have harmful effects on both physical and mental well-being. Therefore, no matter reasons, peple should pay attention to the harm it cause and take measures to prevent it.