Many people are working longer hours. What are the reasons and effects.

With rising taxes and prices, it has become quite common for people to work longer hours particularly in developing countries. While there are several noteworthy causes behind this trend, I contend that it can cause several consequences.

The rise in working positions can be attributed to several factors. First of all,due to increased living costs, it has become quite common for people to spend more time at work. As a consequence, it seems reasonable for them to seek a high income to maintain a better lifestyle. In addition, as competition is growing in many companies, people are choosing to work additional hours. It comes as no surprise that, they want to keep positions and earn a higher salary than co-workers.

There are some problems that can have a negative effect on individuals. First and foremost, when they work long hours, they cannot allocate enough time for family members or interact with people. This can ultimately lead to feelings of isolation, thereby reducing social interaction skills. Furthermore, if individuals continue to work excessive hours, it can be harmful to their overall well-being. Consequently, it can result in being overweight, eye – strain and stress, which can prevent them from performing their jobs effectively and lead to early retirement.

To conclude, although there are many reasons behind this issue, I firmly believe that it can have significant negative consequences for individuals and society.