**Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students should be encouraged to question and offer criticisms on their teachers. Others think this will lead to a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom.** **Discuss both views and give your own opinion.**

There is a growing belief that high school students should be free to evaluate and criticise their educators has evolved into a major topic of concern, while others contend that disrespect and indiscipline are an unavoidable outcomes of this approach. In this essay, I am inclined to agree with the former perspective as more compelling reasons supporting it outweigh the possible argument for the latter one.

On the one side of the debate, the second conviction appears to be reasonable largely because enabling students to judge may undermine students’ sense of respect and discipline. This is particularly true for children in high school, who are generally immature and inexperienced. Therefore, some of them tend to lose their temper and overreact each time they are disciplined by teachers. A further point to make this is that the problem can be further exacerbated when all the students see their peers criticising the teachers. As an illustration, they may think of such action as the right way to behave and start to imitate it. The implication of this is that the respect for teachers may therefore be lost, which means the classroom learning environment may be detrimentally affected.

In spite of the mentioned argument, I strongly support the first notion due to more convicting factors. Primarily, my stance rooted in the fact that thanks to making comments or even criticism of their teacher are likely to broaden children’ horizon. For instance, the core of education is to serve students and equip them with more knowledge, thus, understanding their insight and needs are critical to being a successful educator. Therefore, teachers could refine their methods and make adjustments to their lesson plans to better suit their students, resulting in more educated and motivated learners. Another reason behind my belief is that this development could help teachers to hone their pedagogical skills. This is particularly true for the teachers, who are forced to alter their teaching methods. This subsequently contributes to they encountering more innovative approaches, and become more flexible in dealing with special cases in the classroom.

In conclusion, despite acknowledging the potential arguments in favour of the first, there are overwhelming rationales to endorse the idea that making a comment in classroom may bring a positive impact for children.