**Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students should be encouraged to question and offer criticisms on their teachers. Others think this will lead to a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom.** **Discuss both views and give your own opinion.**

Today, it is argued whether students should give more feedback or criticism of their teachers to improve the quality of lessons. From my perspective, only the latter could be truly justified.

We cannot rule out that student feedback has a significant contribution to the educational system as it is a sign of respect from learners. Educational quality cannot be improved if it only adjusts and follows teacher feedback or even depends on adults without children’s comments since they are the ones who listen and reflect on what the teacher teaches, precisely giving comments for their teachers. Therefore, in order to bring equality and an independent education where both students and teachers build lessons, encouraging students to give feedback shows respect for them and makes them want to contribute more actively in class rather than passively following the teacher.

However, it is still important to acknowledge that this idea should not be encouraged since it might lead to disrespect and a loss of discipline. What people refer to the most is rooted in the decrease in the teacher’s role in the classroom. When students have the ability to debate with adults, a teacher no longer has sufficient authority to deliver lectures and make children follow instructions. Indeed, in a class where the teacher is the only person who talks and evaluates others, one could easily convey knowledge and their perspectives to students. However, when more people in that class give comments and criticism, the teacher could not guide them on the right path of a lesson. The resulting poorer academic performance as well as the quality of lessons could be seen as the teacher could not control their students from crossing the line of disrespect and positive contribution.

Another key argument is a lack of attention. When giving comments, children might be too naive, only focusing on the negative sides in order to criticize teachers without looking for positive comments to improve educational quality. Many teachers receive unnecessary and unappreciated feedback from students without any useful contributions for their lessons, which brings conflict and wastes time for both. Therefore, neither being helpful nor improving lessons, allowing student comments might be counterproductive, negatively affecting teaching.

In conclusion, although encouraging more comments and evaluations from learners depicts respect, this trend should not be advocated. It not only decreases the teacher’s role and impact in a class but also lets students overreact and lack focus on academic pursuits.