Many people around the world now take regular international flights. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages to the environment?

It has been reported that the increasing number of people are now taking international flights in a regular basis. Although this trend leads to the significant environmental pollution, I believe that tourists’ familarity with cultural heritage of other countries and recreational effect on travellers outweigh the drawbacks.

First and foremost, the main reason why some people are against global flights is the environmental damage. In detail, planes used for international tourism burn huge amount of fuel and thus billions of tons of carbon dioxide emissions are thrown into the air. As a prime example, it has been proved that the average plane throws the amount of emissions equal to hundred cars. However, despite this factor, I think that the advantages of regular international flights outweigh this disadvantage.

On the other hand, regular international flights can serve as a form of recreation. Many people around the world are facing with burnout at work due to the lack of rest. This is why flights to foreign countries in a regular basis able to not only prevent the occurrence of burnout, but also renew power for further work. Apart from this, such flights have an educative effect since they provide travellers with an opportunity to become familar with other countries’ cultural heritage through tasting local meals and having a conversation with people who have different mindset.

In conclusion, I believe that educational and recreational effects of regular international flights outweigh the environmental damage caused by billions of tons of carbon dioxide emissions thrown into the air by planes.