Many people around the world use social media every day to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

Many people believe that using social media every day is a good way to keep in touch with other people and get news about the world. This approach brings both benefits and drawbacks, allowing people to find information quickly and talk with friends, yet it results in health problems and losing time.

Before discussing the benefits of using social media, several drawbacks should be considered. One glaring disadvantage is that people spend a lot of time using their phones, which can hurt their eyes. This may not seem like a significant issue now, but it can lead to serious problems in the future. People who use social media platforms such as Instagram, Telegram, and TikTok do not realize how much time they spend watching videos and lying in bed, thereby wasting their time.

Despite these arguments and facts, others believe that using social media is a good way to keep in touch with friends and relatives. This is because when your sister has been living in another country, you can know her feelings by chatting through social media. People in the past had problems with sending messages because they did not have phones. As a result, they spent several months to send letters. Nowadays social media allows people to send an email immediately.

The drawbacks of using social media are not limited, however. Another major benefit is getting news quickly. The flooding in Kazakhstan in 2024 is a clear example of this, when people using social media can prevent flooding in their homes by building fences. It was significant flooding, but using social media, where the government wrote about where the water was, people can deal with this problem.

In conclusion, using social media provides certain disadvantages, particularly in terms of wasting time and hurting eyes. Nevertheless, benefits overshadowed the drawbacks; the presence of social media helps people connect with the world.