Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls in school. Other disagree and believe it is a waste of school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People are divided on the issue of teaching culinary skills in schools, Some say that it is an important skill to master and should be added to curricula. While others are opposed to it. This essay intends to discuss both views at length before forming an opinion.

Those who argue that cooking should be introduced as a subject to students in schools say so because they believe that it is a skill that everyone needs at some point of time in their life. Cooking is an “art”. It takes time and practice to master it. Moreover, if children have learned to cook in their childhood, they can make their own meals when they are living on their own during their graduation or while doing jobs; keeping them away from unhealthy, unhygienic and junk food. This will also keep them fit and healthy.

On the other hand, those against this view think that students in schools have so much to learn. It is often seen that the weight of the bag is greater than the child itself. Putting so much pressure on learning on the young ones would be unwise. Additionally, they emphasize that teaching such skills is the responsibility of the parents. They are the ones to bring the children into this world, so, the onus is on the parents. What is more, they can always learn how to cook by attending external classes or learning from online platform. For example, I learned how to cook basic dishes by watching YouTube videos. There is absolutely no need to burden the students by forcing cooking as a subject in schools.

In my opinion, it is irrefutable that the culinary skills are of utmost importance for everyone to learn, yet, they do not qualify to be taught in schools. Cooking is a skill that can be acquired at any point in life. Basic cooking skills can be learned in a matter of days.