Many people believe that film is a less important art than other forms such as literature and painting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that art forms, such as literature and painting hold more significance that film. I decidedly disagree with it because movies are more inclusive and provide entertainment.

On the one hand, tge film art caters to a wider range of audiences than other art forms. When it comes to the consumption of art including literature, a variety of qualifications and skills are required in order to comprehend it. Put simply, a person must be educated to read and must possess the skill of visualizing to create vivid images in his or her mind while reading, which leads to a deeper understanding of it. Meanwhile, movies do not require any such skills, since there is a designated film for everyone with all educational backgrounds. Even the most unintelligent person can watch a commercial movie, which does not require an intellectual brain to understand it. For example, “the fault in our stars” book has not sold as many copies as much viewership it’s adaptation has garnered despite being an above average film, demonstrating the universality of films.

Moreover, films have been able to provide one thing that most other arts have failed to do so, which is providing entertainment. Therefore, it is extremely common to see people indulging in movie watching for enjoyment, whether in theatres or in houses on online platforms, such as Netflix, and rare to see people going for book readings and painting exhibition for entertainment purposes. The element of entertainment in movies act as a differentiating factor for people on deciding which art to consume. One prime example of this is the proliferating numbers of film theatres all over the world and diminishing numbers of book readings and painting exhibitions. This clearly demonstrates the importance of enjoyment in people’s stressfull lives these days.

In conclusion, this essay completely disagrees with the notion of film being not as significant as other artistic expressions due to the all-encompassing and entertaining nature of films, which makes it an equally important art if not superior.