Many people believe that it is better to learn something in a group rather than individually. Do you agree or disagree?

People have various views about whether studying collectively or individually is more advantageous. In this essay, I am going to discuss both views and propose my own perspective.

Firstly, studying alone has a number of benefits, especially the learner’s concentration and flexibility of time. Learning alone is able to increase the focus of the learner, as they can avoid external distractors. Compared to group study, working alone can help prevent learners from falling into unexpected gossips which lower their concentration level. In addition, self-study provides learners a variety of choices in deciding when to study. Every student has their own routine and favourite time for learning, so studying alone is strongly encouraged as it allows them to choose the best time for themselves. Unfortunately, learning alone still has a few disadvantages such as the difficulty to self-assess, but it is not a big problem as students can take some tests to know where they are.

Secondly, peer learning is a typical choice when students want to learn with their friends, yet I do not really appreciate learning in this way. Indeed, the only outstanding strong point of this learning style is that learners will have someone to push themselves forward and someone to break the ice when they are bored. However, this is also the weakness of this methodology. Specifically, it will be very hard to focus when next to you is someone with a hundred gossips to be talked about. Moreover, each student has their own learning approach, so there might be arguments if they cannot come to an agreement to deal with conflicts.

In conclusion, each way of studying has different advantages and disadvantages. Learners can balance those points to have the best study-time. But if I were them, I would prefer learning alone to ensure I can gain full knowledge.