Many people believe that schools should focus more on preparing students for the job market, while others argue that schools should teach subjects that have no direct connection to future careers. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about whether schools should focus exclusively on career-related subjects or not. Many people tend to believe that teaching useful subjects for the future helps students to become good employees, while others think that being a well-rounded individual is much more important. In this essay, I will discuss both views and argue that although preparing students for employment is effective, providing a wide range of curriculum is essential to boost their adaptability.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why some people think that it is vital to grow future employees from childhood. First of all, it helps students to become experts in their fields such as mathematics, science, and engineering. Moreover, if pupils focus entirely on subjects that are useful for their careers, they will have more time to tackle them. In addition, nowadays there is a really huge competitive pool and learning earlier will increase children’s chance to become good employees. Consequently, it may reduce the gap between an education and a labour market, which prepares students for professional lifestyle.

On the other hand, it would be unwise to limit pupils with future-related subjects only. For instance, subjects like literature, art, music, and history are often underrated, even though they teach students a lot of life skills such as critical thinking, cultural awareness, communication skills, and creativity, which makes them adaptable. Furthermore, choosing a career path in elementary school is too early for children, because they need to try everything before finally deciding. As a result, studying a wide range of subjects boosts not only personal growth but also professional skills.

In conclusion, although a future job-related curriculum makes students competitive, I believe that a broad curriculum provides a great foundation and provokes children’s overall development.