Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both society and individuals. To what extent do you agree.

Some humans suppose that social media such as Facebook and Whatsapp have had an adverse effect on both individuals and society. I totally agree with this statement, suggesting that it can lead to issues such as spread of misinformation and addiction to social networking sites.

Firstly, social media has become a breeding ground for spreading false information. With the fake news and rumours easily shared across various social media platforms, people are often misguided, leading to confusion, distrust, and chaos. Also, the spread of disinformation can harm democratic processes and public trust in institutions. For example, nowadays, there are a lot of rumours across Whatsapp, which are distributed by older people. Then, social networks become a platform for a huge amount of misleading information.

Secondly, social media addiction is a real problem that many people are facing. With easy access to social media apps and platforms, people tend to spend a lot of time online, often ignoring their real-life responsibilities. This addiction can lead to a lack of productivity, depression, and anxiety. For instance, the average teenager spends about 5-6 hours a day on social media. Therefore, social dependence constituted large part of teenagers’ lives.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the idea that social media turn out to be crucial part of human life and negatively affected to their lives, providing challenges such as social dependence and dissemination of misleading information across the internet, i think that society and individuals have to direct their gaze and try to tackle these issues.