Many people believe that the internet has made people more isolated and less connected to their local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this modern technological society, many people believe, and I also agree, that the internet has made people more isolated and less connected to their local communities.

A number of people are becoming more focused on the virtual world, making them less connected to reality. With the creation of a virtual world, people can make themselves attractive and experience a world where they can do what they want. People become too absorbed in the world that they have created or joined. They spend too much time interacting with their imagination, neglecting their physical selves, making them sleep-deprived and sedentary. They also neglect their family and friends in the real world because of the virtual people they met without knowing who they really are.

The internet destroys self-esteem for a lot of people, making them more isolated. It is a sad reality that many people have the pride to speak and type behind the keyboard. However, in reality, when spoken to face to face, they become shy and embarrassed to have real, genuine conversations. Such that they do not know what is real; people comment on things that they have no actual idea of, giving hate without explanation, and reacting just to be on trend. It does not only show that it can destroy self-esteem; it also shows that people lack social skills in connecting to people.

In conclusion, with people living in a virtual world forgetting about what’s real, and people typing without thinking, I agree with the statement that the internet has made people more isolated and less connected to their community.