Many people believe that the population in cities is increasing rapidly. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people say that there has been a rapid increase in the number of people moving to cities in recent years. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this growing trend. In this essay, I will discuss this topic.

Generally, the primary reason for rapid population growth in cities is the pursuit of better living conditions. Residents tend to find greater living standards and better employment opportunities with high salaries which are mainly found in cities. The emergence of more metropolitan areas seems to draw a large number of rural inhabitants to cities, as they offer better access to essential services, such as timely medical care, better education, and a huge number of entertaining activities.

Nevertheless, this upward trend could cause numerous challenges for cities. If job creation does not keep pace with population growth, it will lead to an increase in joblessness. As unemployment rises, governments may need to increase spending on social welfare, which can place a financial burden on the economy. Furthermore, overpopulation can put high pressure on public services. There will not be timely treatment, and not all students will be able to go to school due to overcrowding. Consequently, the overall quality of life in cities may decline.

In conclusion, the rapid growth of urban populations is mainly driven by the search for better opportunities. Therefore, to avoid rural-to-urban migration, the government should implement policies, in particular, promoting rural industries to create employment opportunities, improving infrastructure to narrow the gap between rural and urban areas and finally, developing better healthcare services in the countryside to improve living standards and reduce migration.