The best motivation is money for workers in the workplace. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is believed that the best motivation in the workplace is monetary incentives. I partly agree with this opinion and this essay will discuss the reasons for my view.

On the one hand, money is a strong motivation for many employees, and it is not far from the truth that most people nowadays work for the sole purpose of earning money. Money gives people access to most of what society has to offer: healthcare, entertainment, fashion items and food. Therefore, the value of money is undeniable, and it is reasonable for people to come into work, earning money in order to sustain their lifestyles, pay their tuition, and support their families. For example, working fathers and mothers are often motivated by money, as they have to pay for their children’s education, buy groceries and sometimes, take the family out on a vacation. This explains why employees are best incentivized by money, as money is often the key to convenience and sustenance in society.

On the other hand, for some people, money is not the best motivation but a benefit of work, since they place greater importance on doing the job they are passionate about. There are numerous people to whom money is not the primary concern, however, it is being able to pursue their dream careers that they feel most rewarding. People who are animal lovers are suitable to work as a veterinarian, and people who are passionate about physics are likely to become future mechanics and researchers. For instance, the environmentalist Steve Irwin had dedicated his life to conserve and raise awareness about animals, motivated by his love for animals and the environment, not by monetary incentives. Hence, other factors can still contribute to a person’s motivation at work, not money alone.

In conclusion, I believe that although money is a powerful motivator for employees, it is not the best factor contributing to workplace motivation, as other factors, such as pursuing a dream job, are at play.