Many people believe that TV news and media in general have a harmful effect on our life. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some individuals believe that nowadays, there are a harmful effect on people due to TV news and media. I agree with this statement, and this essay discusses the reasons why.

To begin with, sometimes the news and media provides biased or exaggerated information. This can lead to the manipulation of the public opinion and it brings to harmful effect to our lives. For instance, in Korea, the media reported exaggerated news about a female idol. Many people who watched the news did not fact-check the story, and believed it. As a result, they started to post abuse comment about her on social media. Eventually, she committed suicide because of the pressure caused by the media and social criticism. Therefore, those biased or exaggerated news can influence seriously people’s behavior and even harm someone’s lives.

Furthermore, the media often focuses on negative news such as war, natural disasters and violent crimes. Constant broadcast to such a news can damage people’s mental health. For example, in Japan, media often reported the news about disasters like Tsunami. Those news remind people of traumatic experience. People who watch those negative news evoke people’s negative feelings over time and become anxious. Thus, those information has huge influence on our emotions and mental well-being.

In conclusion, the media has a strong influence and can easily control people’s opinions and emotions. In addition, negative news affect on our mental health and it leads to dangerous situations. These are the reasons why I agree that TV news and media have bad effect on people’s lives.