Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today's world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

In the present time, zoos have become the first home for different species of animals. Due to its artificial environment, many people have the view that zoos are not suitable for wildlife creatures to live in and they should be completely discontinued.

Wild habitats are not supposed to live in man-made areas like zoos, which are made of planned concrete structures of caged walls. Many of us empathize with it as a symbol of being deprived of autonomy to live on one’s own. On top of that, zoos have the right to do anything to these animals. For instance, many of these animals end up being sold and exploited in the name of entertainment, like in the dolphin show in Disneyland and tamed lions jumping in the ropes. If this kind of activity continues, it can cause them to completely lose their natural instincts to survive and evolve. Moreover, a huge amount of money is needed to sustain the logistics of the zoo to provide regular planned diets for animals and to pay for all working staff members. So, the shutdown of zoos can save these humongous investments and be used instead for other opportunities that support the conservation of wildlife.

The allocation of separate land far from developed city areas, the government can create an ecosystem for these forest-dwelling beings. Reserved space can be turned into National Conservation areas, which have adequate food systems and show a sign of sustainability of life. Similarly, suitable existing forest areas are also convenient for these animals to shift, as it is easier for them to find sources of food.

Hence, animals should live on this earth as freely as we humans do and have their own livelihood, live organically in a natural environment.