Many high school students are choosing vocational training instead of university education. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the potential long-term consequences for individuals and society?

In some nations, vocational courses appear to be more popular and chosen by more students over conventional degrees at universities. In this essay I will contend that this development is occurring because of high tuition fees in traditional educational institutions, that are overly focused on learning theory cannot be fully experienced in real life situations. From my perspective, this tendency mostly consists of advantageous sides like shorter studying period and less information to absorb; learners thus gain only essential skills in a brief manner.

First and foremost, vocational training is becoming more widely chosen by people due to several reasons. University degrees last longer (from 2 to 5 years) and focus on obtaining theory. Curriculum plans are saturated by exams that check learners’ knowledge. What is more, most universities do not offer practicing the given information; as a result, students do not know how to use it in real life scenario. The main causation of fading traditional ways to study is their prices. In order to avoid financial burden in budget, people adhere to economy money. The average price among U.S. universities is around $60.000 per year, while short term programs cost half as much.

Regarding this development’s results, I personally take the view that there are more benefits that may help students to save their time and funds. As I have mentioned above, positive sides like shorter studying time and less money to pay may help people to gain the same education quality with the focus on real experience. It is clear that this tendency has appeared recently, and not every employer is acquainted with such programs’ diplomas; it can lead to some misunderstandings while hiring. Nonetheless, this potential issue is gradually disappearing over time. For example, on the hiring platform “LinkedIn”, companies today do not concentrate mainly on university degrees. They review applications based on summaries with certificates and work experience before.

In conclusion, this development happens due to high prices and longer period of studying with focus on theory at universities; learners choose the shortest and the cheapest option if that is available. For me, it is hard to argue that this has significant minuses turning it into a negative tendency, while there are plenty of pluses.