Many people fear that artificial intelligence will soon replace large numbers of workers. What problems could this cause, and what measures can be taken to address them?

It is believed that AI may substitute a great number of employers in the nearest future. Such phenomenon can contribute to widespread unemployment, social inequality and unrest, however, it can be regulated by the right policies and steps.

First of all, AI has already taken over in such sectors as finance, customer service and many others, which contain monotonous tasks, contributing to a major unemployment rates. Many people, who worked in such spheres, will be facing an issue of finding a well-paid job, since their experience and skill may be unnecessary and invaluable, considering the fact, that AI is able to do all of the work faster, more correctly and less expensive. Therefore, for many companies it is more convenient to systamize all of the tasks for AI, rather than spending a great amount of money on keeping a real worker.

Secondly, a growing use of AI in the work process can lead to economical inequality. The advantages of artificial intelligence profit skilled and professional workers and large companies, while replaced workers may find themselves struggling with adapting to a new reality. Individuals who have lack of education may fall further behind, increasing a gap between rich and poor. As a result, society might become more divided and equality could be weakened.

The issue can be solved by many ways. One of them is enforcing right policies. A lot of people fear AI, because of the lack of knowledge about it. Therefore, providing an information about more efficient and safe usage of AI in the masses can lead to a different situation on the job market. The artificial intelligence will not be perceived as something dangerous and threatening, otherwise, it will be adjusted so that it will not replace a real worker, but make one’s job easier. Moreover, the origin of the issue lies in the limit of education, thus providing it in the masses or making it more available and may exceed the value of the employee.

In conclusion, with the right policies and actions the problem of workers substituion with AI can be viewed more harmless.