Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

A lot of people in underdeveloped countries suffer from diseases that can be cured due to the high prices of the medication they need. This essay believes that pharmaceutical companies should make their products more affordable in these countries. Firstly, I will explain why citizens in these nations will benefit from the discounted rates for drugs and secondly, I will define what other initiatives medical companies can take to support these people.

I believe that medicines should be made available to everyone. Treatments, especially for curable diseases, are necessities that we have the right to, not some kind of luxuries. It is evident that workers’ physical health has an impact on organizations’ performances, hence the healthier the community of a nation is, the higher the chance for the economy to grow.

On top of that, providing subsidized products will help these companies achieve their Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), which in return attracts more investors and promotes a highly ethical workplace in the market. In my opinion, there are ways in which business entities in the health sector can reduce their rates. One of the alternatives is to partner with a government by selling the goods at a discounted rate. This partnership will result in a mutually beneficial relationship between the two parties where the medication companies still earn a decent amount of income and the government saves money from the budget set. Another option to support these companies in making their products feasible in the market is by collaborating with hospitals and clinics that have a higher percentage of patients with curable diseases that require this certain type of cure, making sure that the goods are delivered to the right place.

In conclusion, the alternatives to making the cures accessible have their advantages and disadvantages. However, regardless of how small of a step is, it will make a difference in patients’ lives.