Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Reading newspapers or watching TV channels as a source of information is now considered a thing of the past, as people can gain news on the internet. While acknowledging the potential drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that this is generally a favorable development.

Granted, opponents of gaining news online may cite the potential misinformation on the virtual platforms since inauthentic and unverified information can easily be uploaded without difficulties. If people were to utilize this information and disseminate it widely, this can cause such dangerous circumstances. This danger manifests itself starkly in the Covid-19 pandemic where people continuously said that this virus cannot be cured and lead to death quickly, engendering anxiety among societies. However, it is important to note that the government has imposed laws associated with the authenticity and validity of information floating around the internet, ensuring that news approaching people will be of high quality. In tandem with this, people proactively choosing and deciding which information to read is also crucial.

The argument in favor of deeming the internet as a reservoir of information as advantageous is further strengthened by its unparalleled conveniences offered. Utilizing phones or computers to keep abreast of what is going on around the world can help people save money, which should have been spent on purchasing newspapers. By the same token, it can also eliminate the need to wait for TV programs with fixed schedules, thereby saving a considerable amount of time and ensuring that people can gain sufficient information. If people long for news through television channels, they have to remember the time and the channels to achieve that aim, which is sometimes challenging for people, let alone those who are absent-minded and failing to meet that request can hardly give them another chance to watch these programs, depriving them of the opportunity to be fully informed.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for advocating the traditional ways of learning news, I would contend that the benefits it offers are more significant, given its roles as a time and money saver.