Many people now work remotely instead of commuting to an office. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Companies and industries are the engine for the economic development of any country, and the people contributing to the companies are the fuel for the economy. Most of the employees have adopted working remotely after the surge of the pandemic, which has resulted in a number of negative outcomes. Two of the most devastating effects are discussed below.

First and foremost, the challenge is the employee’s skills development. When the employees come to the office, it provides them with a working environment that helps them develop their skills. They had the advantage of the peers knowledge, which sometimes helped them to enhance their skills and knowledge. And, in turn, they applied their learnings to their work, leading to the fast-paced work completion. This loop will go on forever, and people will benefit from this knowledge transfer. In contrast, if people are isolated in case of remote working, they will miss this golden opportunity to collaborate with their peers and enhance their understandings, which will surely affect their capabilities negatively.

Another challenge that has come forth after observing the remote employees is that their mental state has deteriorated to a great extent. When people preferred to come to the office, sit with their colleagues, and communicate with them, it helped them relieve their stress and enhance their focus. They were able to have fun and gossip with their friends, which helped them keep themselves calm. A number of studies have revealed that the remote workers are more prone to the mental states like anxiety, stress, FOMO, and depression, which has sometimes escalated to the extent of suicide attempts in comparison with the in-office workers. As the person is isolated and he doesn’t have anyone to share his professional life with, his thoughts get choked up in his mind, which can push him to the darkness of depression. As it is proven that a person who groups with like-minded people is sure to outperform, the remote worker will face challenges to keep up the similar performance.

A number of countries like the USA, the UK, and many more have observed the decline of the companies and, in return, the economy, and have mandated the employees to be back to the office, and thus it is clearly evident that the people working remotely have adverse effects on the companies, the economy, and the overall development of the country.