Many people nowadays have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that having other jobs besides the main career is the trend of individuals in this day and age. This essay analyzes some main factors that lead to this phenomenon and gives the perspective of the benefit side with rationales and examples.

There are some reasons why they choose to have jobs simultaneously today. The first reason is that they want to get more salary. Since most workers nowadays have only one job that is unable to afford the basic needs, they are prone to receive other tasks to reach financial freedom as soon as possible. Fortunately, having more than one assignment is creating chances to claim more income. By that approach, employees have the ability to make more money and enjoy their life more without having financial pressure. In addition, making money in multiple careers creates the opportunity to strengthen their core career skills that are hard to find in the main job. For instance, interpreters choose to have some communicative jobs such as language teacher and tour guide to improve their speaking skill.

However, this trend also includes some shortcomings that make multiple work become demerit. Because of a variety of assignments, it is impossible for them to concentrate on initial duty. This means that workers find it difficult to focus on main occupations that require an amount of time to become specialists in that field, leading to low productivity on either center responsibility or substitution assignments. Furthermore, compound duties directly threaten work-life balance. If those jobs are taken by them in the vast majority of time, they will be ineligible for spending time with family, health, and relationships. Consequently, all the connections in their life and also their career will be ruined ironically.

Indeed, Multiple occupation is the recent approach of some individuals because of its money making chances and passion finding, yet it also delivers a few drawbacks that have been mentioned above.