Many people nowadays have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, people tend to take on multiple jobs at the same time. This trend arises from several obvious reasons. Overall, while it offers certain benefits, its disadvantages outweigh the advantages, making this trend a negative development.

In terms of this issue, there are two main reasons that make people do more jobs in a certain time. One of the most primary factors is financial burden. The cost of living activities is increasingly expensive, especially in urban areas where a single job cannot be affordable. It is capable of a serious problem, as they come from poor families where their financial situation is not solid to face the speedy increase of expenses, so taking more jobs is a considerable solution for them. Besides, getting more jobs at the same time is a potential opportunity for those who want to gain more experience. These side jobs can help them practice some social skills like communication, team work or soft skills and undergo special events which their main job cannot offer them. Moreover, engaging in these such jobs allows them to widen their circle, promoting their images to support their main job.

Despite these advantages, having more than one job at the same time has a significant impact on them. Health problems are primary concerns when they are stuck on this issue. Forcing themselves to do many jobs results in both mental and physical health risks such as stress or burnout that are root causes of dangerous diseases. Additionally, balancing many jobs reasonably is a difficult task, being likely to reduce their productivity in all jobs. The lack of their concentration on work performance is a remarkable effect, as they struggle in multiple jobs’ responsibilities.

In conclusion, there are various reasonable reasons for getting more than one job at the same time, but it is a negative development with a range of undeniably potential risks.