Many people nowadays have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

The recent years have witnessed an alarming increase in having multiple sources of income. This essay will discuss the underlying reasons of this phenomenon and examine its significant implications on workers and the society.

Taking several occupations at a time can be attributed to a number of determining factors. One major key driver contributing to this trend is the seek of diverse skillset. This is primarily because switching jobs or industries allows employees to acquire a wide range of skills such as problem solving, collaboration and communication. This range of expertise is valuable, especially in dynamic industries where cross-functional skills are highly sought after. Another significant driving force behind holding concurrent jobs is to have different income sources. To illustrate, individuals can create a variety of income streams which lead to the finance stability and affordability of living expenses. A clear example of this can be seen in the workforce occupied occupations during COVID-19 due to economic pressure and income insecurity, people tended to apply for more jobs to earn a decent living.

The consequences of multiple jobs are twofold, with both merits and demerits. One of the most favorable outcomes of this trend is network expansion. This can be illustrated by working in different organizations, young professionals can broaden their network significantly. Meeting new colleagues, mentors, and industry connections expands their access to future job opportunities, valuable insights, and potential partnerships. On the downside, juggling different jobs has led to inability to focus on important career goals. Consequently, employees can not fully commit to one career path and struggle in getting promotion in any field. For instance, a marketing assistant who also works night shifts as a barista may lack the time and energy to concentrate on improving her professional skills, causing her to miss promotion opportunities at her main company.

In conclusion, having several occupations at a time is driven by a variety of factors, including pursuing a wider range of skills and aiming for a wide range of earnings. While this trend has broadened one’s network, it has also led to distraction in focus on one yield. It is recommended that steps be taken to mitigate the negative impacts while maximizing the benefits.