Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

In contemporary times, many individuals publicize their private information such as address, phone number, and so on on the Internet to sign up for a social account or online banking. From my own perspective, this is a negative development owing to numerous drawbacks it brings.

On the one hand, putting personal information online is a necessary part to identify the owners’ verification of the social accounts. Moreover, if people utilize social platforms such as Facebook or Instagram, they will easily broaden their friend zone with individuals who have the same leisure pursuits or buddies by information provided on their accounts. Another advantage is that users can now login in to these accounts more easily. Instead of selecting security questions and remembering the answers, users can now be confirmed simply by providing their phone number or email address. This function is important when someone is attempting to sign into a bank account during an emergency.

On the other hand, there are numerous issues with freely providing personal information online. The first is that doing so makes the user a target for both material and identity theft. Social media accounts are prone to hacking. Once the burglar has the person’s address, they can easily sneak into their home, especially if other information, such as vacation plans, is already published on social media. Worse, they can mimic the user and claim insurance. On a lighter note, when consumers provide their information to a social media firm or a bank, there is a tiny chance that it will be sold to telesales representatives. According to sources, some social media networks.

In conclusion, while sharing personal information makes registration easier for people, it must be done carefully because it currently does more harm than gain.