Many people say that public transportation is the most effective way to reduce air pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Air pollution, which many people are concerned about, is one of the most imperative issues in many countries around the world. While there are many solutions to tackle the problems, some people believe that decreasing the use of private vehicles is the most efficient way to solve these problems. Therefore, I believe that personal vehicles are major problems that cause air pollution in urban areas, and limiting the use of them can encourage people to use sustainable transport.

One of the most important reasons that lowering the number of private cars is the best solution is that they can emit a lot of harmful emission. Most private cars use fossil fuel to run, which releases a large amount of carbon dioxide and particulate matter into the atmosphere. Furthermore, these emissions will contribute to climate change, and cause serious health problems such as runny noses and other respiratory diseases. Therefore, by reducing personal cars the amount of carbon emission release to the air would decrease sharply, resulting in cleaner atmosphere and greener cities.

Secondly, another reason is that decreasing private cars can encourage people in cities to switch to friendly transportation such as public transport and the metro. To be more specific, when the government upgrades public transport systems, and create cycling lanes, people are more likely to use them instead of taking their cars to use. For example, the Singapore government has increased the road pricing and high fees for owning private cars, leading to encouraging people to take public transport instead of personal cars, which contribute to lower traffic jams. As a result, with fewer cars on the road, the traffic congestion is solved, leading to less fuel consumption which releases carbon emission. Therefore, this will increase the popularity of public transport which enables people to use it , and improve the air quality in the cities.

In conclusion, I agree that reducing the use of private vehicles is the best way to enhance air quality in the cities. By cutting the use of personal cars, people can use other greener forms of transport and create a cleaner urban area environment.