Many people say that self-study is the key to success in their lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement. Write an essay of about 250 words to answer the above question.

The key to be successful in life has always been a subject of heated discussion. While it is yet to be of certainty that what makes success, I totally align myself with the notion that the ability to study by oneself without dependence on others is an inevitable feature of successful individuals.

To begin with, the ability to self-study equates to many other skills that all contribute to a fulfilling life. It is totally impossible for one to self-study without developing self-discipline as well as the ability to research and manage their time efficiently. Furthermore, self-studying facilitates independence and creative thinking, which are undeniably the most crucial factors of a successful career and lifestyle. Should a person be able to independently devise unique premises and practices, it is only a matter of time until they will take the initiative and become an influential figure of their field. In this sense, it is not solely the capacity to self-study that leads to success but rather a combination of skills relating to it.

While opponents of this idea may agre on the ground that such abilities can also be taught by teachers and instructors, this is simply not the case. The reason for this is that most educational institutions are tailored to meet the need of the general public, in which successful individuals are sadly a minority. Additionally, it is also an unfounded assumption that one can succeed while still depending on others, in this case teachers and educators. In an average classroom, teachers only intend to transmit and help learners acquire a limited amount of knowledge that is required for a typical citizen to live a decent but ordinary life. To become extraordinary, one ought to be able to learn irrespective of the presence of a teacher in that most teachers are average people intending to produce similar products of average citizens.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the ability to self-study is crucial to successful individuals on account of other skills accompanying self-studying and the significance of independence from other people.