Many people think cheap air travel should be encouraged because it gives ordinary people the freedom to travel further. However, others think this leads to environmental problems, so air travel should be more expensive in order to discourage people from having it. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is a view that inexpensive air travel should be supported since it can give people a chance to travel further, while others believe that the opposite is true in today’s world since a number of environmental problems stem from air travel. Although both perspectives hold merit, I side with those who argue that potential disadvantages of cheaper air travel are far more significant in comparison.

It is true that cheaper air travel can be beneficial in some ways. One of the most significant advantages would be that it boosts tourism industries and local economies. When tourists come to other countries, they will buy everyday consumer goods from people who are selling them in those regions. As a result, it is likely to boost their income and create new jobs for local people to work at the supermarkets. Furthermore, it helps for people to have cultural exchange and global understanding. Unless people travel to other countries, they will see and learn other people’s cultures, such as food, holidays, and language, which helps them to broaden their horizons and understand the world.

However, I firmly believe that the potential drawbacks of implementing affordable air travel are more likely to be significant in comparison; it is likely to cause some environmental issues. When governments implement reasonably priced air races for people, everyone around the world may want to go to other countries without any valid reason. Consistent air travel will require more fuel from earth resources than ever before. These potential concerns may lead to some environmental problems such as pollution and frequent earthquakes. High airfare prices can partially address such issues. Another reason for costly air travel is that it encourages people to choose more eco-friendly options of transport. Instead of high-fuel-consuming planes, many people can travel by electric cars, which require a small amount of energy charge for even long distances.

In conclusion, while there may be certain arguments in favor of introducing cheaper air travel for people, especially with regard to boosting local business and broadening one’s horizon, I remain convinced that the potential detrimental aspects that come from this development are more likely to be significant for the reasons asserted above.