Many people think cheap air travel should be encouraged because it gives ordinary people the freedom to travel further. However, others think this leads to environmental problems, so air travel should be more expensive in order to discourage people from having it. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

These days, some individuals believe that ordinary people should be given low-price flights as it allows them to travel further. Others think that air travel could result in environmental issues so it must be more expensive to deter people from having it. In this essay, I will consider both perspectives before proposing my opinion.

On the one hand, offering cheap flights to people has numerous benefits. One of the major advantages is that it could give individuals the chance to travel around the world at an affordable price. Airplanes have been regarded as the fastest, safest, and most convenient means of transport to travel to other countries all over the world. This is because an aircraft can carry up to 500 people, and fly for a long distance without refilling the fuel. Moreover, the mortality caused by aviation accidents is notably low, just 0.16 per million. Therefore, providing ordinary people with reasonable flights could encourage them to travel to other countries that they have never been to before.

On the other hand, excessive air travel may have some negative impacts, especially on the environment. The reason for this is that most aircraft nowadays run on fossil fuels like oil or petrol, which discharge a huge amount of exhaust fumes into the atmosphere. If there are more flights around the world in a day, the upper layer of the air will be contaminated, speeding up the effects of global warming. Furthermore, this trend is also predicted to rise significantly in the future. According to a recent report about aviation emissions in 2050, the figure for this will be higher than the emission of other vehicles commuting on the ground, which means that people may face numerous environmental problems related to global warming.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on encouraging individuals to travel further by lowering the price of air travel, I believe that people should consider both perspectives before choosing it.