Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, humanity has witnessed the significant development of technology. One of the biggest breakthroughs is the appearance of telecommunication technology. Whilst there are certain benefits to this trend, I personally believe it has a negative impact on social relationships.

On the one hand, nowadays, technological communication platforms has changed the way we communicate with others. Thanks to applications such as Zoom, Google Meet, Discord, Skype,… individuals can stay in touch with their beloved ones anytime and anywhere. Furthermore, companies may also host online meetings, despite the geographical barriers between the participants. For example, during the pandemic of Covid 19, various businesses chose to work and communicate via digital softwares. Surprisingly, while the workload stays constant, employees shared that they felt more comfortable and productive working from their homes than in offices. Hence, telecommunication has outstanding advantages.

On the other hand, however, this upwarding trend does also have tremendous drawbacks on relationships among people which shouldn’t be neglected. In modern days, all it takes to grant access to the Internet is only a mobile phone and a SIM card, thus, led to the outbreak of users on communication applications. Therefore, individuals who are relied on these might lack the essential skills for direct communicating, as they isolate themselves in their room all the time with their cellular. In addition, one of the weaknesses of these platforms is that they are not perfectly secured. Hackers and scammers often try to make friends with other online users and gradually steal their personal information for negative purposes. For instance, in recent years in Vietnam, numerous cases have reported to be scammed money or personal privacy by relationships which they made online. Considering these drawbacks, it is evident that the development of modern communication technology brings potential dangers to our society.

In conclusion, whilst this trend does have certain advantages which can serve our daily needs, I firmly think its lack of interactions between individuals and lack of trust in a relationship, at the meantime, brings considerable disadvatages.