Many people think that museums and galleries should only show work from local artists rather than work from other countries.

Initially, local galleries and art museums display the works of national artists as well as foreign ones, who are known world-wide. Residents have formed different opinions about this topic. Some believe galleries and museums should only present the artworks of local artists, while others disagree. From my point of view, those facilities should exhibit both, although the majority of pieces should be native.

Percieving and critisizing, not only their own but other countries cultures also, helps a nation develop intelectually as well as learn foreign costums and traditions. For example, if France only exhibited the works of Jacques-Louis David and other frenchman, then the majority of the countries residents whouldn’t have a chance to see Raphael in person for various reasons. The most widespread of those reasons is financial disadvantage. Most people don’t have the privillage to travel to other countries. That’s why it’s important for museums to include foreign works as well.

On the other hand, a gallery represents its country. When travelling most tourists visit the countries gallery or museum to learn about its history and culture. It is vital for those facilities to dedicate most of its space to local artworks. As an example, even though the Louvre Museum is considered to be a world-wide attraction the majority of its exhibits are of Frenchmans.

In conclusion, galleries and museums should dedicate the most resources to local exhibits, because they are the symbols of the countries past amd costums. But include external pieces as well, for the sake of the nations development