Many people think that public transportation should be free for everyone. Others argue that it would be too expensive and inefficient. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

This issue divides people into two groups when it comes to public transport. Many support the idea that public transport services should cost nothing, while others oppose this view. This essay will discuss both sides and give my opinion.

On the one hand, free travel is popularised public transport, as a result, it generates income and reduces environmental problems. The fact that public transport is free of charge is a strong reason to choose it over using a car. Moreover, the free travel always attracts tourists leading to taxes. For instance, Luxembourg is first country which refuse to charge for transport resulting in declining traffic load. Thus, the free of charge transport helps to solve problems not only within the system but also beyond its boundaries.

On the other hand, in most countries, public transport is not free. With this money, public transport companies may guarantee safety for their clients. Furthermore, if the transport system is paid, it will improve the quality, speed of travel. Japan is an example of a country where public transport is paid but highly developed, safe and constantly improving. Hence, we need to pay in order to maintain high transport standards.

In conclusion, the cost of public transport is a controversial topic. I believe that public transport should be paid for ensure good quality and safety.