Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is believed that zoological gardens are too cruel, and therefore should be shut down. However, there are people who think that such gardens are an integral part of animal protection. Although zoos might be useful in the development of breeding programmes that help to preserve endangered species, in my opinion, the poor conditions in which they keep animals are unacceptable.

On the one hand, the opponents of the existence of zoological gardens claim that wildlife parks have a depleted environment such as small aviaries and monotonous life. This is due to the fact that they have a small budget allocated from the state for such parks. As a result, animals suffer and have stress even though large zoos are trying to enrich it. For instance, being kept in cages is cruel to animals because they also have the right to freedom.

On the other hand, the advocates of animal parks assume that they conserve specific individuals from various threats that await them in nature. This is owing to the fact that animals injured in the wild or born in zoos do not know how to survive. Hence, in safari parks they undergo regular medical examinations, receive adequate nutrition and necessary care. To illustrate, there are many dangers in the wild such as poaching, extreme weather conditions and eventually, diseases and deaths.

To conclude, although people may vary in their opinion, I am firmly convinced that menageries ought to be closed down. This is because of the impoverished environment, small cages and adverse conditions for detention species that are kept in them.