Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

People have different views about zoos. While some consider zoos to be cruel towards their animals, I argue that they play an important role in preserving endangered animal species.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why people hold the views that zoos treat their animals cruelly. Primarily, animals are supposed to suffer in captivity. As they are prohibited to move beyond the borderline, they get so fatigued and frustrated that they, intern, miss the freedom of the wild out of confinement. Another essential contributor to the argument is the possibility of lost natural skills amongst animal types. For instance, animal keepers provide their ‘clients’ with food all the time, the result of which could lead them not to develop hunting abilities properly. Therefore, they become dependent on ready services, showing reluctancy to attempt independently.

On the other hand, however, I believe that zoos have a crucial part to play in animal conservation. One important factor is that zoos serve to preserve endangered animals. Whereas wildlife jeopardize the life of fauna, zoos are expected to be safe and trustworthy to prevent them from getting extinct. Nurturing is an additional pivotal service which zoos provide with. Other than constant food delivery, the protection of animal kingdom is carried out during illnesses or unexpected accidents. Thus, zoo animals will always be kept under control.

In conclusion, although people may argue against zoos for some reasons, it seems to me that they still have a vital function in saving animals from extinction.