Many people use distance-learning programs to study at home, but some people think it cannot bring the same benefits of attending college or university

Despite the fact that distance education is preferred over the full-time programs by many, there are also several others who criticize this choice, thinking that it does not offer the same advantages as the regular courses at the educational institutions. I do not agree with this notion considering the fact that distance-learning programs offer more flexibility and are often cost-effective.

Firstly, while attending courses at the university in person, it is necessary that the students follow a fixed schedule and be present on campus at all times. However, with study at home courses, students have the flexibility to study at their own pace with minimal competition and peer pressure. For instance, as a working professional, I preferred to do my MBA online as I had the option to study whenever and wherever I wanted without being tied to any fixed timetable.

Secondly, distance-learning programs are cheaper than the courses that are to be attended in-person. This helps a lot of people who are keen to learn but cannot afford to join a normal course due to the huge fee structure that one has to pay while studying at a college or a university. According to an article published by Times Of India in 2023, the students who chose distance-learning came from different social backgrounds and affordability of the distance-learning courses was the prime reason behind this preference.

To conclude, even though many people may argue that distance-learning does not share the same prospects as that of courses in universities or other educational institutions, I strongly believe that it has more advantages than the latter considering the flexibility in terms of time and the financial benefits that distance-learning provides.