Many people who commit crime have a low level of education. Are education courses in prison the best way to reduce crime rates?

Education plays a crucial role to tame a person’s personality and behaviour. Lower education means, though not strictly, that this individual can be more inclined towards illegal acts. Providing education in jails can lessen crime rates. This is by far a best approach, although, other factors are important too.

Undoubtedly, education is a key for best in everything, either it is about building a role model of an ideal society or an individual’s thought process. Lower levels of this basic human right can deprive them of many things including their well being and obtaining access to resources for maintaining their acceptable levels of knowledge health and most crucially, income. Hence , during sentence there should be education courses that can modulate their personal approach towards life. For example, an individual after indulging in a course about sociology can be more comprehensive about our social system and can determine his role with more ease to feel included. In that way they will find themselves inclusive and will try to be productive rather than destructive. Moreover, education can be a source to strengthen themselves economically by getting a job which was not possible before with lower levels of education.

In addition to this, many other things are important too, for instance, providing skills to them so that they can get a job after their release. Conducting relegious preachings and meetings to discuss morality, can make them more aware of their acts and leading consequences in future. However, there is a risk of meeting and learning from those involved in severe criminal acts and who are beyond recovery regarding their criminal attitudes. This can be avoided by keeping and maintaining a catogorical system in prisons according to severity of crimes.

Conclusively, it is evident that education is the main thing to consider but other factors should also be explored.