Many people work long hours, leaving very little time with leisure activities. Does this situation have more disadvantages or disadvantages?

No doubt we are living a fast life to meet our professional goals and fulfill our personal needs. However, many people only focus on working long hours, which often leads to less time for recreational activities. I think there are more disadvantages over advantages in this situation as it leads to unbalanced work-life.

On the one hand, there are several advantages in working long hours. It boosts productivity and may incerese chances of getting a promotion by climbing the corporate ladder. Moreover, Many individuals likes to do overtime so that they can retire by early age and enjoy later stages of life.For instance, there is a survey published in a UK magazine reveals that , to meet the demands of job market and avoid stressful life many millennials are choosing to work long duration during adulthood so that they can retire early and enjoy the rest of the life.

On the other hand, extended job hours has many disadvantages like unbalanced work-life, decreased productivity and less time for fun activities. Human body is not designed to sit or stand for long duration as it leads to physical and mental fatigue. Therefore, many individuals often face burnout and anxiety after extended long hours at work. Morover, it creates a disturbance in personal and professional life by not having enough time to enjoy recreational activities and enjoy with family. For instance, a recent data collected by UN shows more than 50-60% of adults face anxiety and depression because of work related stress, leading them to have no time for fun and enjoyment in life.

To conclude, there are perks and demerits of doing double duties but it comes with a price to pay. Nevertheless, I believe it is not worth to sacrifice our physical and mental helath over climbing professional ladder as it can lead us to live a isolated and unfulfilled life. Thus, Trying to live a balanced work-life is the key to live happily.