many people work until a later age. why does this happen? state your opinions on the matter

Nowadays, an increasing amount of people work until a later age. While there are benefits to workers like financial stability and higher morale, it is crucial to consider the drawbacks of health and opportunities for younger generations. Personally, I think the disadvantages preponderate over the advantages.

One significant advantage for older employees is financial security. By having more experience and contributing more time with a company, they can extend their salary and retirement earnings. In a societal perspective, older individuals contribute more knowledge and experience, which can increase productivity in workplaces overall, boosting the economy.

However, others argue that working until a later age doesn’t only have an impact on the individual’s mental health but also workplace productivity. Working repetitively for decades can lead to mental exhaustion and depression. Mental illness causes people to lack creativity and engagement, which leads to bad outcomes and overall economic inefficiency. In contrast, younger generations are more enthusiastic and innovative. Therefore, employing younger workers is potentially better for the company and economy as well.

In conclusion, while extending one’s career might offer financial stability and contribute experiences to workplaces, the disadvantages of mental health and opportunities for younger generations outweigh the benefits.