Many people work until a later age. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s rapidly evolving world, the population is growing immensely and more elderly people are working after their retirement. Some are of the opinion that labor in late years has more advantages than disadvantages and I firmly agree to the idea. Not only would older members of the public contribute in educating younger generations, but they may increase their own financial independency.

Retired people who choose to continue working are better equipped economically. When prices soar in society, more people are forced to lower their expenses to choosing cheaper alternatives. In the long run it could have severe effects on the mental health. Studies have shown that people who are financially independent, are more likely to live a more outgoing life and their stress levels are lower compared to those who actively have chosen not to work.

Furthermore, older people possess more knowledge as they have more experience and can pass on clever ideas to younger generations. Even though young employees are taught with the latest research, they seem to lack practical features. For instance, a young employee may have better understanding of theory but do not know how to maneuver a specific equipment. Mistakes can be avoided since older employers can teach them specific tricks.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people of age who continue to work after their pension, are more likely to cope better in life as they become more independent, and they act as a complementary resource to younger individuals through their experiences.