Many places in the world rely on tourism as a primary source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, the economy of many countries is dependent on the tourism sector. Although both benefits and downsides are associated with this, I think drawbacks take precedence over the advantages due to some key factors.

One of the main advantages of tourism is that it boosts a nation’s economy. A plethora of sightseers are spending a huge capital by traveling the world. Some kingdoms completely depend on this sector and earn a vast wealth yearly, Thailand, India, Nepal, and Sri Lanka are the best examples. As a result, governments can spend this money on the inner development of their countries. Additionally, tourism contributes to enhancing the lives of people. As their economy escalated, they could get better healthcare and education facilities; and create numerous job opportunities in the tourist area.

Despite these amenities, it poses severe consequences for our environment and lives. Tourism is the primary reason behind the contamination of our ecology. To meet the demands of a vast number of travelers, it is compelling to have more transportation, resulting in the exhaust of a huge fossil fuel, ultimately polluting the environment. Secondly, tourism accelerates the living expenses of local citizens. Usually, the tourist spot is costly, and all kinds of commodities are overpriced compared to the general territories, which affects the lives of local people, especially those who live in poverty. Consequently, they can not afford daily life commodities and manage the demands of their households.

In conclusion, tourism is indispensable to the economy of many developing countries. Nevertheless, it poses some serious impediments, including polluting the environment and affecting the lives of local citizens. Therefore, I believe that the disadvantages of tourism outweigh the advantages.