Many schoolchildren dislike learning maths. What are the reasons, and what are the best ways to make them enjoy maths?

Mathematics as a school subject is often disliked by students. Not only is it complicated, but it also might seem boring. To interest children in such a subject, it is necessary to make the learning process more personalized and to provide students with relevant, current-day problems to solve.

Mathematics is a challenging subject demanding effort and concentration even from gifted students. Less scientifically-minded children might find it overly complicated and challenging. In addition to the intrinsic complexity of maths, it may seem boring, if presented in a dry academic style typical of some education systems. For example, Russian schools are still using textbooks written during the Soviet era. While inarguably well-organized and systematic, these books can hardly be engaging for the current generation of schoolchildren.

To make mathematics more approachable, a scaled approach should be used, whereby students who find it challenging would be given extra opportunities to revise the material and gain a firmer grasp of basic concepts, while their academically advanced peers could be taught more sophisticated aspects. To make the subject more attractive to all kinds of students, however, it is necessary to make it more relatable. This can be achieved if school textbooks are updated in order to demonstrate what an immense role mathematics plays in modern life. For example, being able to analyze statistical information is an invaluable life skill that would help critically assess the news provided by various sources and make informed decisions based on such analysis.

To conclude, mathematics can be a challenging subject due to its nature, and it may be made even more so if it is taught in old-fashioned, obsolete ways. In order to make it more accessible, a multi-level approach taking into account different types of students and their needs should be implemented. To make it more attractive, textbooks and classes should be centered around relatable problems and practical application of mathematics in solving them.