Many schools are incorporating mindfulness and meditation practices into the curriculum. Some people argue this is a valuable tool for managing stress and improving focus. Others argue that school time should be reserved for traditional academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Educational settings are introducing mindfullness and meditation practices into their curriculum as some reserach suggests it can reduce stress and enhance focus. This essay will examine the advantages and the disadvantages of integrating mindfullness and meditation into education.

One of the many benefits of introducing mindfullness into the curriculum is to support students through transitions of the day. For example, using a mindfullness activity such as colouring a Mandala first thing in the morning can allow students to prepare for the day calmly. If children are allocated spefific breaks to practice mindfullness and meditation, the practice will become second nature. This will lead to an overall calmer classroom as children have regulated thier feelings. Furthermore, mindfullness activities also allow children time to process information learned before rushing to the next subject. Children have a limted working memory capacity so allowing scheduled breaks for information to be digested will support regualtion of the students emotions. This will then allow children to be fully focused in the upcoming lesson.

On the other hand, it is argued that mindfullness and regualtion breaks are a ‘time filler’ for children who finish work early rather than an extension activity related to the subject of the class. Many critics say mindfullness takes away time for key learning in core subject as it is a relatively new idea. Therefore mindfullness or meditation should be practiced at home with their families if they choose to.

I strongly believe from the evidence presented that meditation and mindfullness activities, if taught correctly, are a huge benefit in the modern classroom. Children are constantly exposed to a technological world and have access to social media 24/7. Teaching skills of mindfullness and meditation for regulation of emotions will only strength childrens abilites to function in a modern society.