In many countries, large infrastructure projects are increasingly funded and managed by private companies rather than governments. To what extent do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today’s globalised world, private companies numbers has risen notably, and began to contribute to large infrastructure projects. A significant amount of these projects are increasingly funded and managed by private companies rather than governments. I believe that such an approach is considered a positive development.

Many countries suffer from the low quality of infrastructure projects due to lack of money or bad management of governments. However, private companies are experienced in managing these projects, and can make the infrastructure much better by providing a fund and be a part in the management. For instance, Egypt suffers from overpopulation, and this issue affects the traffic intensity. Nevertheless, the proposed solutions of the government were to expand the transport infrastructure, and renewing the existing means of transportation. However, that solution was not effective, as it requires many years of work and a huge budget. On the other hand, a private company introduced a new project called “Rabbit” which is simple and effective. It introduced a new type of scooters which citizens can rent them for as many hours or minutes they want. This solution was effective and was conducted with a few budget; therefore, the private companies in this case were very beneficial.

Furthermore, governments have many crucial responsibilities which they should focus on. Focusing on large infrastructure projects would make goverments lose focus on the other responsibilities. For example, governments should focus on the national security of the country, while projects that invlove enhancement of the tourism infrastructure would significantly affect the focus for the government and would require a huge budget for managing it. Allowing the private companies to fund and manage such projects would significantly be better for countries.

In conclusion, many governments face difficulties in managing a growing number of infrastructure projects, and private companies can play an important role in managing those projects. I contend that allowing private companies to fund and manage various projects is considered a positive development.