Many social media accounts are fake. What problems can this cause? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, in social media platforms there are plethora of fake accounts. They scam the users and cause a huge problem to the society. In my opinion, I think those social media apps can prevent this problem by improving the verification prosses or using Artificial Intelligence.

There are many fake accounts in those platforms which harms the society. They scam the users and rob their savings, and most of the users cannot differentiate the real accounts from the fake ones. These scammers make a very similar to real accounts that is hard to distinguish them. This is very common problem in today’s world and everyday people fall into these traps. For instance, most of the time the scammers would pretend that they sell or buy something and when the other users put their card info, they rob the money out of the card.

I believe, social media platforms can solve this problem by enhancing verification prosses. They can require passport ID when the person wants to sign up to the app. This will reduce the numbers of the scammers because they can only create one account when they put their ID. Those apps, also, can use artificial intelligence to detect fake users. Ai would scan through app and find multiple fake accounts at once. Today, META, group of biggest social media platforms, uses ai to detect fake users easier and faster.

In conclusion, social media platforms have many fake accounts in them which cause a threat to the other users. However, I believe they can end this by making sign up prosses more complicate and using ai to find those scammers.