Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that many students take a break for 1 years and travel different places or do some work after finishing their school and before starting university. While there are some drawbacks of this trend. I believe that the merits outweigh the demerits.

Most importantly, there are a variety of benefits of this trend, one possible benefit is that it helps to refresh their mind and improve focus ability. Actually, students don’t get enough time to travel when they are in school, and after completing their school lives, they feel boring. To remove this boringness, many students take a brake from their regular life in order that they can visit new places and spend some time with their friends. Generally, when a student travel a new place, he can see many things about that place, such as history and current situation of the place. In addition, on account of traveling natural places, students spend time with their friends by playing different games and feel fresh and energetic, this also helps to enhance their focus power. Another possible benefit is that a short break helps to develop a new skill. For instance, many students make plans that they will be computer engineer, mechanical engineer, and automobile engineer. For these reasons, a good number of students join IT courses, mechanical, and automobile courses so that they can gain proper knowledge about those subjects. Similarly, many students join many courses after completing their graduation from school so that they can develop a skill for part time jobs to manage their pocket money.

Despite the above benefits, there are some drawbacks of this trend. One possible drawback is that many students lose their good friends. Basically, school life is the best time for a student because most of students make their best friend at schools; however, when they take a break after schooling, many of their friends continue their study at universities, and finally, they lose their friends. Moreover, a lot of students waste money by traveling different places, while the others don’t take any break and save money for their education. Finally, those who don’t take any break, they can finish their study in time.

In conclusion, although students can save money and can complete studies in time who don’t take any break between school and university, they cannot learn about new places or work to manage their pocket money. However, if anyone takes a break after school for traveling or learning new things, he comes back with a good knowledge of different places and experiences of real life. Therefore, I think that a break is valuable to learn something new.