Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Having a brief glance at the modern life of today and all the consequences it has brought about, educational and professional life. On the one hand, many student decide to go to the university immediately after finishing high school. On the other hand, some student decided to have a one year rest in the aim of to go to the travel or work/apprenticeship before starting university. From my point of view, I would say both viewpoints have validity of reasoning, But I would lean towards the latter one. I’m going to discuss over second viewpoints in coming paragraphs.

On one side, the most important thing is don’t waste the gap time and using it in a best possible productively way. Keep in mind, that your professional life doesn’t effected at all by a one year gap in your resume as well as for employers in next years.

Some people use this gap for travelling to the foreign countries to experience different cultures and languages. This can be very beneficial because it exposes them to new magnificent experiences and new ideas. On the top of that, many students at the age of 18 doesn’t have any recognition about their self and their ambitions as well as their favorite job in the future. Needless to say, that how many self-knowledge and valuable experiences can be obtained through a year of travel.

On the other side, many pupils decide to enter labor market or traineeship in famous companies in the field of interest. Consequently, this group of student can obtain worthies work experiences that can be entirely helpful in understanding and passing courses at university latter.

As has been discussed, weighting up both sides of story I would say there can be numerous benefits in one year gab before entering university. It’s worth mentioning, however, that this time have to be used intelligently and not wasted. This can be reached through a more comprehensive and precise planning of the year in the aim of getting the most possible experiences.